Five Foodie Favorites for Friday!

I’m savoring my last bit of “retirement” before I start my new job in August! You know, sleeping in, working out mid-morning, eating a leisurely breakfast, making smoothie bowls for lunch, and taking “Eleanor” breaks during chores and errands to give my girl a backstretch and chin scratch.

Chin scratches = Eleanor smiles

Chin scratches = Eleanor smiles

With this time off, I’ve also had the time to stroll the grocery for new finds and create a some recipes that you should know about. Here are five foodie favorites for Friday! (See what I did there? ;-)) (Are you now thinking I’ve had too much time off and need to get back to work? Michael, that question is rhetorical and not for you. :-* kiss kiss.)

Breakfast: Egg whites, one egg cooked medium, asparagus, mini heirloom tomatoes, fresh basil, salt & pepper. Holy moly. (Oatmeal on the side, because well, oatmeal er’day.)

Breakfast

Elderflower tea: This stuff is gold. Naturally sweet, non-caffeinated, and perfect warm or chilled.

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 9.49.12 AM

Popcorn with truffle oil & grated parmesan: I’ve been on a big popcorn kick lately! Michael doesn’t seem to mind when I bring a big bowl of stove-popped popcorn, cooked in coconut oil and topped with a drizzle (heh, ok few globs) of truffle oil and grated parmesan throughout the bowl. You should see us battle for the extra cheesy pieces. Ain’t pretty.

27397ec5e9cf0b4fab8c2843dedf311a.500

Giant green smoothie bowls: These beauties are made with 1 cup of Califia Farms toasted coconut almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana, lots of handfuls of kale & spinach, wheatgrass powder, Orgain organic protein powder (found at Costco!), fresh mint, and a few handfuls of ice. Blend, bowl, toppings galore. #healthyfroyofix

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 10.01.57 AM

CAVA: This is probably our favorite new restaurant we’ve discovered since moving here! Imagine a Mediterranean version of Chipotle. Greens, grains, lentils, pita bread, hummus galore, chicken or lamb, quinoa, feta, olives, mint, pickled vegetables, extra sauce…ALL IN ONE BOWL. The CAVA experience isn’t over. They have these fresh juices that are SO SO SO good. Some creations include strawberry mint, apple cardamon, lavender lemonade, carrot ginger…mmmhmm. For those not in the DC area, sorry, truly sorry. As of now they’re only around here (and in the DC airports) and one soon premiering in NYC, but I have a feeling the chain is going to be nationwide because they are THAT good. Danny & Kaitlyn, double date to CAVA when y’all get up here!

unnamed-2

Photo curtesy of CAVA

Photo curtesy of CAVA

IMG_9901_2_1440_744_c1

Photo curtesy of CAVA

With that, what are some of your favorite foodie finds that I need to know about?

Happy Friday!

2 thoughts on “Five Foodie Favorites for Friday!

  1. CAVA IS SO GOOD. AHHHHHHH.

    Sorry, I have a lot of feelings. AHHHHHH.

    I’m done. Ah, I keep hearing good things about Elderflower tea. I might need to succumb to peer pressure and finally try it, haha. I want so desperately to make a smoothie bowl, but I keep getting overwhelmed and intimated by it!

    My foodie favorite? Glad you asked! Ever since I decided to get creative one morning, I have been telling EV. ER. Y. ONE. about my current go to breakfast fave. Toast, thin layer of pesto (I heart pesto like it is MY JOB), scrambled eggs (however you make them! I personally add almond milk, pepper, dill weed, and garlic powder), and then shredded cheese as an optional garnish. Sounds simple but oh so good.

  2. All of those foods look delicious!! Think I’ll try that smoothie thanks. With your new job on the horizon you’re gonna need all those power foods :). Working with high schoolers requires ENERGY. You’re perfect for the job BTW

Leave a Reply

