“Spring is Coming”

HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE! Happy New Year! We are already well into 2016 and I haven’t made a single appearance here on Bird’s Nest. I’ve thought of countless posts…like a 2015 recap, our Christmas and New Year’s visit, a few recipes to share, and some of my favorite recent reads… but between binge watching Homeland and House of Cards with Michael, teaching a handful of fitness classes a week (4 Pure Barre classes, 2 Zumba classes, and 1 core class), keeping up with the mounds of laundry and dishwasher loads (how do two people go through so many clothes and dishes everyday??), I haven’t had any writing mojo.

Perhaps I’m recovering a bit from 2015? WHAT.A.YEAR! I lived in Charleston, Richmond, Memphis, and Johnson City. FOUR moves! There was planning a wedding and the most beautiful day I’ve ever lived. We cruised around Alaska and started our marriage with more moves and adjusting to a new city together. I pursued a dream to teach Pure Barre and have been humbled by how much preparation, training, and practice it takes to be an excellent teacher for each class. 10426687_10204937827476830_5670134686419501070_n

unnamed-4

Then there’s been health stuff that’s sidetracked me. Skin spots removed, funky hormone levels, blood taken. It’s been an interesting few rounds of “if-not-that-then-what?” Health and wellness is a journey, ya know what I mean? I’ve felt a little…out of sorts.12227562_10153357006782424_4487242417836674502_n

But then there’s been some really energizing and refreshing moments! I’ve found out that a few of my favorite people are pregnant! Michael surprised me a few weeks ago to Willow Winds, our favorite cabin in Asheville, NC. That was so fun! We just celebrated his birthday and well, Eleanor is cute as ever. My downtime each day has had Amanda Cook’s CD on replay and I’ve enjoyed Nathan Foster’s The Making of an Ordinary Saint. Most of all, God has been faithful to meet me in the day-to-day. I’ve found the Spirit’s companionship in the household chores, the peace of Jesus to calm the nerves before teaching a class, my Creator’s steadfast strength in the doctor’s office. unnamed-312540706_10205066633176892_2741761261667765909_n

When we were hit with a foot of snow a few weeks ago, I was reminded that we go through seasons, always changing and transforming. My favorite quote in Foster’s book talks about winter. He writes,

“During winter, nature is busy. Trees do most of their growing as roots search deep, plumbing the earth in search of nutrients. In a season that seems dormant and asleep, God is active.”

unnamed-5

Feeling a little out-of-sorts, or like my roots are searching deep, I’m assured that this season is the pathway to new life and that God’s words are for us here and now: “Behold, I am making all things new” (Revelation 21:5). I feel like the end of that verse deserves an exclamation point: Behold, I am making all things new! Like the excitement of a new spring season…warm weather! Bird’s chipping! More sunshine! Flowers and trees in full bloom! Fresh farmers market goodies!  SPRING IS COMING!

All things new! I’m included in that. You, too. Seasons are just seasons–they come and go. Sometimes they’re bitter and frustrating, sometimes they’re warm and nourishing. We strive for balance everyday, but is that even attainable in just one day? Or even in one season? Perhaps balance found when we step back and have a larger hindsight on our journeys? I think when we take that outlook, we see the full picture of moments where we’ve thrived in full-stride balanced with moments of struggle.  unnamed-2

Here’s what I’m saying: Happy Winter! Happy hibernating, searching, and digging deep. Happy struggle and questioning. Happy heartache, stumbling, and failing. You’re right where you are supposed to be. What seems stagnant will soon burst forth with new life! Let go what needs to be shed and make space for what is to come. Take hope and trust in a good and faithful Creator.

Behold, you are being made new.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 11.11.16 AM

2 thoughts on ““Spring is Coming”

  1. Shea – thank you for this, I needed it today 🙂 The quote at the end made me teary. Career-wise, I feel like I’ve been in the coldest winter for what seems like an endless amount of time, and I have to remind myself every day that something new has to be coming soon… winter is the worst but spring eventually always shows up! Xoxo!

    On Tue, Feb 9, 2016 at 10:30 AM, birds nest wrote:

    > Shea posted: ” HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE! Happy New Year! We are already > well into 2016 and I haven’t made a single appearance here on Bird’s Nest. > I’ve thought of countless posts…like a 2015 recap, our Christmas and New > Year’s visit, a few recipes to share, and s” >

  2. YES, YES, YES.

    AMEN.

    I’m glad you marinated for those months of the ‘day-to-day’, because it has yielded pure gold in this post. This is honestly right where I’m at too, in a sense. It’s funny even when we are geographically apart from friends and sisters in the Lord, we can still be walking similar paths and realizing the same life-giving truths. I love it. This actually reminded me of a post I saw on a (kind of new age) site, that spoke to me – talked about ‘going deep’ and being in tune with what your body, soul, and spirit needs this winter. It’s a time for roots to go down deep (as you said), and while things may seem dormant, there is more than meets the eye. love that – so rich and full of promise. Love you my sweet friend – sending you love from the holy city. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

