Peanut Sauce: Simply Yummy!

Happy Friday! With this week’s confession about peanut butter, I thought I’d give you another favorite recipe for you to try this weekend!

Behold: peanut sauce!

This peanut sauce reminds me of a quaint restaurant in Winston-Salem called Simply Yummy. Unfortunately they’re closed for business but when they were operating, they served everything from stews, warm paninis, to extravagant coffees and house baked treats. The real star, in my opinion, was their carrots and peanut sauce side! Their peanut sauce brings me back to my M.Div days, studying for exams, writing term papers…eating one carrot one dollop of peanut sauce with a carrot at a time! Excuse me ma’am, may I have more peanut sauce?!Screen shot 2015-07-31 at 9.33.06 AM

Since they’ve closed and I’ve moved from Winston, I wanted to recreate that yummy peanut sauce. The best part about it…it’s super simple ;-).

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tablespoons peanut butter (any kind. I prefer a creamy, reduced fat)
  • 1 Tablespoon hoisin sauce (found in the Asian section of the grocery!)
  • 1 Teaspoon minced garlic
  • 2 Tablespoons warm water
  • crushed peanuts (reserve some for garnish)

Directions

  • Mix it all together!
  • Garnish with crushed peanuts
  • Dip away!

How simple is that?! It’s perfect with carrots…

11046168_10204238797961529_5634748651688289751_n

Or homemade spring rolls…

11406636_10203965653733094_6396092783935572889_n

Or your take on pad Thai…

unnamed

Honesty…it’s just a perfect sauce. Let me know how you like it!

One thought on “Peanut Sauce: Simply Yummy!

  1. This looks delicious. My husband, Robert is a peanut butter lover too so this looks like something he would love plus a way to get some good raw vegetables in him in the awesome sauce. You have great ideas Shea. I enjoy your blog a lot. Thanks! Prayers & Love, Cathy

Leave a Reply

