PB & J Oatmeal

I have a confession: I used to really hate peanut butter. There, I said it! Now for the redemption…

A few years ago, I started to try those foods I swore off as a child and with peanut butter at the top of the list, I started to get a little crush on the creamy concoction. The crush turned into a deep love affair.

I love the stuff so much that I have to limit myself to an actual tablespoon at a time…usually 2x a day…but oh my…those are little moments of heaven swrilled atop my other favorite food obsession…oatmeal. Y’all, I eat oatmeal nearly every.single.morning (yes, even in the summer heat) and sometime with lunch too. My favorite version? “Famous Shea’s PB&J Oatmeal!”

IMG_7347

For those I’ve fixed it for, they’re hooked too (Right, Tiff?!). It’s utter perfection in a bowl.

FullSizeRender

IMG_7342

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Old-Fashioned Rolled Oats
  • 1T PB2
  • ½ cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • ¼ water
  • 8 drops of liquid Stevia
  • Cinnamon (dash or two)
  • 1 T sugar free blackberry jelly (or your choice of flavor)
  • 1 T reduced fat Great Value peanut butter (or your choice of pb)
  • ¼ bar of Quest Cookies & Cream protein bar (or your favorite Quest)

IMG_7343

Screen shot 2015-07-29 at 9.18.10 AM

Directions:

  1. Mix the dry oatmeal with PB2 and then stir in the almond milk, water, stevia, and cinnamon in a deep microwavable bowl for 2 minutes & 25 seconds. Watch it! Don’t let it spill over.
  2. Stir and let it sit a minute. Texture should be a smooth, creamy consistency. If there’s too much liquid, let it sit. If it doesn’t stir well, add water or milk.
  3. Stir in your choice of jelly.
  4. Swirl atop your oatmeal with peanut butter. I like to let it melt on top!
  5. Crumble ¼ of the Quest Bar in to small pieces & drop on top of oatmeal.
  6. Eat slowly and enjoy your creation!

FullSizeRender_1

Leave a Reply

