Ain’t Gone Girl!

There’s a quote from Henry David Thoreau that I often think about when it comes to writing:

“How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live.”

Now the word vain might be a little harsh, but I like the… freedom, excuse(?), wisdom…to take a mini break from publishing life and simply just stand up and live!

I can hardly believe it’s been 2 ½ months of marriage. Michael and I have been on the move—literally!

unnamed-1

In March, I started to pack up my life in Charleston, SC to move back to Richmond, VA in April. I was there for a few weeks to finish preparing for the wedding and to spend a little quality time with my family! After the wedding in Charlottesville, VA and a honeymoon in Alaska, Michael and I headed to Memphis, TN for a month-ish for him to finish up his work project where he has been the past year and a half. The adventure has brought us to where we now call home: Johnson City, TN! We just moved here for his new job assignment and I’m so relieved to “settle” a bit with all of these boxes. I’ve been shuffling belongings far too long.

Moving so much hasn’t been ideal with so…..much…..shhhtuufff. + a cat + shifting from single-hood to marriage. HELLO TRANSITION! It’s definitely been an interesting combination for Michael and I to experience in the first few months of our marriage… which is a polite way of saying it’s been an exhausting psychology experiment.

unnamed-2

He and I are both fans of routine, consistency, and organization…a few things that we’ve been forced to forfeit for a brief time. But you know what? We’ve survived, thrived, and now we are exhaling a bit as we create a new routine together! We’ve learned a lot about ourselves and each other already and I can honestly say I love and admire that man more each day. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all of the changes (and towering storage bins), but we are taking one day at a time and remembering to keep our faith central and trying to be as kind and gracious with each other as possible. Some days we do better than others, but overall, I’d say we are doing a pretty good job!

shea-and-michael-trump-winery-charlottesville-virginia-wedding-photographer-357

I still have so many wedding pictures and details to share on Bird’s Nest, a handful of thank you notes to finish, and a few boxes to tackle at the homestead.

I just wanted to say hello, we’re alive, & see ya soon!

(p.s. we just watched Gone Girl this past weekend for the first time. That movie is crazy!)

3 thoughts on “Ain’t Gone Girl!

  1. Shea, so good to hear your head is poking out of the tower of boxes!! What an adventure, new relationship(marriage) and yes, different from dating :0 it’s not a crash course either. Takes time & more time and patience & forgiveness for the times we scratch & scrape one another. It’s all these fun life experiences like moving to a new place, no family, but will begin the “one process” becoming what God intended. God Bless you & Mike for all the challenges & triumphs! BTW that movie Gone Girl is IMO one of the many reasons our country is skidding into decay! I didn’t watch the entire movie, my stomach was turning with sadness.

Leave a Reply

