2 Years in Charleston & a 2014 Recap

It’s my 2-year anniversary in Charleston! Last year I wrote this love story about Chuck. Hindsight really is something else. I smile at the memory of that roadtrip down here, the days searching for a place to nest, and the many Dunleavy’s wings consumed because I fell in love with them right away and used the excuse that I didn’t have a “proper working kitchen.”

The first year was a beautiful collection of tasting and knowing risk and reward. I grew into the person I’ve been called to be and wanted to be. My second year let me settle comfortably into this town for a hot second…and then I reconnected with Michael and the year flew!

unnamed-3

I look back at 2014 and am still wondering if there was actually a summer! (There was, I just checked.) There were so many trips taken, countdowns counted, and not nearly enough beach visits as I wanted. Between work during the day, the gym at night, and every few weeks traveling to see Michael, 2014 blurred by!

I’m not complaining though. I threw out my old slippers (that I’ve had since 5th grade……………), got mom to take a selfie with me, tried my first “hot-off-the-belt” donut, and adored the holidays with family!

unnamed-1

unnamed-2

unnamed-5

unnamed-4

Other highlights of 2014: I traveled to Bali, embarked upon a new writing project, had (and still have) an obsession with oatmeal, and party-it-up’d celebrating my friends’ weddings…2014 was sweet! Anhhh… and my favorite highlight of 2014: getting engaged this year!Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 8.11.16 PM

unnamed-6

2015 is going to be amazing. Amidst the wedding plans, honeymoon, and marrying Michael, how could it be anything less than awesome? Sure, a tad (understatement) stressful but it’s a gift and the adventure is wild! I’m humbly grateful.

I have a feeling in two years, I’ll look back at this season of my life and smile with the same endearment as I do to 2013-Shea. Hindsight will be a better view then, but right now I’m living in the moment and focusing on soaking up every precious day I have. It’s an abundant life and God is so faithful! Cheers to 2015!

4 thoughts on “2 Years in Charleston & a 2014 Recap

  1. Love the photos!! You are worth “every good and perfect gift that comes from the Father of Lights who never changes but is the same in character yesterday, today and tomorrow.” Nothing but good things ahead for you Shea in this New Year! Can’t wait for another family wedding….yahoo!!

  2. Shea, you have been a shining example of what it is to be a faithful and godly young woman. Even when you didn’t understand the what’s and the why’s and next you remained steadfast. The Father wants to bless you abundantly and His timing is always perfect. May you continue to follow His steps and He will lead you to the most joy you’ve ever experienced! The oh, so fun ride in 2015 is going to be fantastic! It’s only just begun!

  3. Blessings to you.
    Ran the Cooper River bridge last week. Thought I saw you and Michael riding bikes in the opposite direction. (A little imagination I suppose. At least the girl had your smile)

  4. Happy New Year, Shea! I hope you and Michael have a great year as you prepare for your future together. Scott and I are planning to build a house in Pawleys Island next year, so we’re excited about that. Come see me if you are in the neighborhood.
    Love,
    Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

