“When in Bali…”

Day 5 March 26

The first half of our trip is over—where has the time gone?

us

Today was another day dedicated to eating a leisurely breakfast at the resort and catching the shuttle into town. We walked amd shopped for a solid two hours until we needed to rest our feet…

We had seen a particular kind of “spa” treatment that really focused on the feet: fish therapy.

Essentially, you sit on a bench and soak your feet in a bath of swimming Garra rufa while those little fish eat the dead skin off of your feet. Since this practice isn’t in America (in fact, I think it’s banned…) we thought we better partake in a unique experience while in Bali. (No, this isn’t our general approach to things illegal in the States versus other countries 😉 ha!)

Ah, so back to shopping and walking for a few miles. We came across the “doctor fish” and decided to try it for a ten-minute session. To be honest, I couldn’t think too much about it or even look at the fish beforehand. I have a pretty strong gag reflex if ya know what I mean.

We were nervous. They looked hungry.

feet

 

(Insert Jaws’ theme song…)fish

After mustering up a few ounces of brave juice, we both dunked our feet and the fish came really fast. There was no slowly getting to know my feet… no introductions made… no “hey toes, it’s me Garra…mind if I have a little tastey-taste?”

NOPE! My feet felt were violated within seconds. Those little hungry bastards went to town on my soles!

It felt weird. Disgusting. I hated it. I truly couldn’t even look down at them. (Mom, this might have been your version of hell!)

Steph hated the experience too—especially considering they really liked her feet! I think we lasted a solid seven minutes and couldn’t stand the heebie jeebies.

Done. Crossed of the Bali list. Over it and never again.

Post Fish Therapy Treatment

Post Fish Therapy Treatment

Our stomachs were growling and we were ready for lunch. I know, you’re probably wondering, “How can you even think about food after that kind of experience” To which I kindly respond, “Pahlease. We could eat all day, e’re day.”

restaurant

We came across one of the prettiest little restaurant the night before and were happy to stumble across it again. “Shea, another healthy, organic restaurant, right? You are sooooo predictable.” Guess what?

CARBS.

We started off with some daiquiris. Went to town on some woodfire pizza. Those salad greens stood no chance.

…And then round two.

Another magic juice concoction.

Screen shot 2014-03-26 at 11.43.30 PM

Another plate of food! Steph ordered a plate mixture of tabouli/olives/ mozzarella/ bruschetta/salad/cheese and I ordered gnocci in a creamy pesto sauce.

gnocci

Let’s just say that gnocchi was the best I’ve ever had in my life. They were little puffs of heavenly clouds melting in my mouth. With each bite, I declared many praises to a good God for amazing food!

After our decadent lunch and getting a little boozed up, we thought the obvious thing to do next was find a place for an hour long full-body massage. Vacation is just so wonderful…

spa

We ended up going back to the ladies that treated us for reflexology in the beginning of the week. This ($7) indulgence was amazing. I kept having the thought, “What the heck am I going to do when I get back to American and can’t have a daily massage?!” I tried not to think about that too much though since inward panic started to arise and messed up my zen. #travelersproblems

Once the massages were over, and if lunch wasn’t enough to keep us full until November, we grabbed some healthier “milk” shakes. My shake was made from coconut ice cream, cashew milk, and raw vanilla bean. Once again, the best I’ve ever had!

Luvah and I sharing shakes.

Luvah and I sharing shakes.

Our time to head back to the first resort came quickly and we said our goodbyes to Ubud. Our next destination is two hours away in east Bali to a town called Candidasa. Our resort is located oceanfront to the Indian Ocean!

We got here at night, so I’m truly eager to wake up and see this setting. I have a feeling the next few days are going to be soaking up some major R&R…so hopefully you won’t get too tired of reading about how many times I need to reapply sun block and what kind of refreshing drink I’ll sip ocean-side. It’s a tough life, but somebody’s gotta do it!

2 thoughts on ““When in Bali…”

  1. Shea, I really enjoy reading all of your blogs…you are such a talented writer! I can’t wait to read more about your trip 🙂
    Hugs-Channing

  2. Um…….the fish part eating the dead skin off your toes…..yea that is why I desire to be cremated cause if they touch my toes when placing a tag on it, I will rise up and smack them. I give you guys an A ++ for trying it! This is why you don’t ask me to travel with you. :).

Leave a Reply

