Don’t Overnight Curry.

I’d like to think that I have brilliant ideas. The execution of said ideas are a toss up.

One of these ideas came out of my love for leftovers for breakfast. On Sunday, I was planning ahead my meals for the week and realized the orange curry chicken marmalade I craved could be ready if I simply put it in the crockpot over night, ready for Monday morning. What a great way to start out a Monday, am I right!?

Let me back up.

When I moved to Charleston, I loved Charleston and Charleston loved me…and it showed on the scale! My clothes started to…ahem… “shrink.” (I’ll write more about this later—promise!) So for the past two and a half months, I’ve been inspired by friends and their healthy food intake to challenge myself to eat clean(er) and switch up my workouts for max results. (Again, more on the details of this soon…) I’ve seen results and I am motivated and excited to continue to eat healthy and workout hard.

Screen Shot 2013-05-15 at 7.40.44 AMAn example of how much I was loving Charleston food….!

Part of my success has been doing Advocare. (Next post is dedicated to this alone!) It is a 24-Day Challenge and they emphasize clean eating, working out, and using their vitamins for total health. I LOVE IT. Today marks day 15 and I haven’t felt this great in years!

Screen Shot 2013-05-15 at 7.40.55 AM

With this challenge, they give a slew of recipes. I hadn’t tried any of them until this “overnight excursion.” When I read the recipe of this “slow cooker marmalade curry chicken,” my mouth watered and before I knew it, I had all of the ingredients piled in my crockpot by 10pm Sunday night.

I was so excited about it. I went to bed that night with curry on my mind—so much so I dreamed about eating it all night long. Perhaps it was the dreams that woke me up at 1:27am, or my grumbling stomach for the strong aroma of curry that filled my tiny little house? Maybe it was the fact that my AC wasn’t on, causing little house to be a sweat lodge? Perhaps it was my crockpot that awoke my slumber as it made that “I’m ready” sound with the lid popping every few minutes…pop….pop….wake up…pop.

Frankly, waking up five hours before my alarm (wide awake) just pisses me off. Add the elements of a grumbling stomach for warm chicken, the muggy/sweaty air, the stench of curry, and the popping of the crockpot, I was done.

I went to turn the crockpot to warm, the AC on, and drank a glass of water. I couldn’t do anything about the aroma of curry that saturated my house, so I focused on sleep.

Thankfully, I fell asleep quickly and 6:30am came quicker. But by the time I was ready to eat the first bite my warm Monday morning meal of chicken curry with brown basmati rice, I was already sick of it. Yep…I was nauseated with the smell of curry despite having a solid five meals planned.

I ate it—it was good—but I was over curry.

Screen Shot 2013-05-15 at 7.41.07 AM

This post is to say a few things:

  1. DON’T OVERNIGHT CURRY.
  2. To my coworkers, forgive me for reeking of curry on Monday.
  3. I’ve never been to India (it’s on my bucket list!), but Sunday night, India came to me.
  4. Advocare is awesome and I’ve seen the pounds shed and my energy level is the best it’s ever been. If you’re interested, email me (sheahawkins@gmail.com) or comment below!
  5. The recipes are really great from Advocare! If you’re interested in this dish, see below for the recipe…just take my advice and slow cook it when you’re not sleeping!

Screen Shot 2013-05-15 at 7.34.43 AM

5 thoughts on “Don’t Overnight Curry.

  1. I did this once with Bar-B-Q. Even with the high ceilings and larger square footage, the ordor marinted every square inch of my home. You ended up in your own personal crock pot!! I now cook these types of things out on my deck!

  2. I don’t recommend curry in the crockpot-ever. Even 4 hours during the day makes the whole house smell like India for hours afterward! You can hardly eat it after smelling it for so long. I like the idea of cooking it outside. : )

  3. This made me LOL, good start to (My Monday(shift worker)) however a tweet of yours “That chicken I just baked… Best ever! Recipe on the blog this weekend. Fo’ sho’. 4 days ago ”

    lets see this one! 😀

Leave a Reply

