It’s a Good Friday!

Happy Good Friday loved ones!

I seriously cannot believe Easter weekend is upon us. Time is FLYING…it’s a little unnerving if you ask me! This morning I had the chance to take a few minutes, open my journal to give thanks to God for some really wonderful people, events, and details of life. I opened my Bible and randomly found a psalm that was so very fitting for me:

Here are a few pieces of Psalm 30:

2-3 God, my God, I yelled for help
and you put me together.
God, you pulled me out of the grave,
gave me another chance at life
when I was down-and-out.

4-5 All you saints! Sing your hearts out to God!
Thank [our Creator]!
[God] gets angry once in a while, but across
a lifetime there is only love.
The nights of crying your eyes out
give way to days of laughter…

8-10 I called out to you, God;
I laid my case before you: …
So listen! and be kind!
Help me out of this!”

11-12 You did it: you changed wild lament
into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band
and decked me with wildflowers.
I’m about to burst with song;
 I can’t keep quiet about you.
God, my God,
    I can’t thank you enough.”

I love that last part. “I can’t thank you enough.” I’ve shared this before on Bird’s Nest and know I’ll share more, but can still taste the remnants of experiencing some very dark seasons and a painful depression over the past few years. My journal is filled with honest confusion, heartache, and frustration to my Creator. I was made stronger and gained peace. My trust in God to be near was my anchor.

“I can’t thank you enough.”

God is so faithful. I can’t stop saying it. I was in a a dark place but God brought me through it in more ways than I can comprehend!

So fitting for this day…for this weekend. Going through a dark moment (think, Jesus was sweating blood!) to God’s faithfulness being fulfilled (Easter!).

Our culture associates Easter with eggs, chocolate, and of course, bunnies:

0288eed1572a2f26efc531af0a769935

Cute, right?!

I get it! We’d rather have a celebration of cuteness than reality. And the reality of Easter isn’t pretty. It’s filled with questioning God’s abandonment, betrayal, and death. The beauty of Easter proclaims God’s faithfulness, loyalty, and life!

“I can’t thank you enough.”

2 thoughts on “It’s a Good Friday!

Leave a Reply

