“Particular”

Hey y’all!

I miss this blog—a lot. I’ve been MIA, unpacking box after box in my new place here in Charleston. It’s been so thrilling setting everything up, nesting new spaces. I adore the decorating process, but I’m learning that I’m extremely particular about certain things being “just right.” For example, it’s taken me two days* to organize my bookshelves the way I want it—and let’s get real…I’m going to change a few more books around before I am completely satisfied with it. Just being honest.

On being said particular… I’m meticulous about how my dishes are organized and the flow of my kitchen. Things just need to make sense (like the baking dishes close to the oven and the most used items [silverware, dishes] close to the dishwasher for easy unloading). The spices need to be grouped by flavor scale, cans by size and food type, and…well you get the point. And that’s just the kitchen, folks! I haven’t even touched the bathroom or my bedroom closet!  I know what you’re thinking…and it’s probably three letters that are arranged “OCD” but I beg to say precise…one who pays close attention to detail…“particular.”

IMG_2821

Here’s part of my life philosophy: I believe life is insanely beautiful! I want my house to reflect that view and when I dwell in this most intimate space, I want to feel refreshed, inspired, and relaxed. I want it to be a place that displays past adventures and stimulate new explorations of this crazy world. And most of all, I want it to be a place where others see it and say, “This is so you!”—because a home should be a reflection of its dweller. So, yes, it’s taken me quite some time to set up camp here in Charleston. I cannot wait to show you pictures & give a few of my own decorating tips! Just as soon as I get a couch…because my current outdoor love seat sitting in my living room isn’t exactly screaming, “That’s so Shea!”

Here are a few other highlights from the new adventure of 2013.

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 10.02.17 PM

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 10.03.07 PMMoving was “PACKED.”

IMG_2905

The neighbor brought pumpkin pie over!

IMG_2926

Reunited cuddling with Eleanor after being apart for nearly 3 weeks! (Also, a sneak peek at my dresser drawers turned into tv stand!)

IMG_2845

First dinner setting at my countertop with my parents when they were in town!

IMG_2933

I bought the new Local Natives CD, Hummingbird and listened to it for this lovely bike ride. I highly recommend both the CD & a bike ride!

It’s been an exciting 3 weeks! Learning new roads, meeting new friends, trying new restaurants… it’s like traveling in a new country and I’m loving every single second of it. I’m so incredibly happy, I can’t stop whispering “thank you” to a faithful God. Blessed, indeed.

Thanks for sharing this new journey with me.

Much love,

Shea

*Yes, two days. Why? Because I had seven boxes of books to unpack, organize by category and then take that stack and organize by height (depending upon the type of stack arrangement I was trying to achieve). Heh…

4 thoughts on ““Particular”

  1. YOU FUNNY SHEA! I LOVE YOUR DESCRIPTION OF WHAT “HOME” MEANS TO YOU, MY THOUGHTS MIRROR YOURS COMPLETELY 🙂 I LOVE MY FEATHERS, AND BITS OF THIS AND THAT JUST LIKE NESTING BIRDS DO.

  2. Thanks for the updates, Shea. Love your place and your “mild” OCD…. Organization’s a good thing. Seriously, you and Christine would make great partners in crime and business. 🙂 Hope all continues to go smoothly in Charleston. JoJo

    • Thanks Jessica! I originally had it in the bedroom and the drawers annoyed me (one of those difficult pull/push types) so I thought I’d bring it to the living room, take out the top to drawers and put my cable box and dvd player. I had to drill holes in the back to string the cords, but easy to do. I actually didn’t buy this but was it was given to me, so can’t tell you where it’s from. However, I am so convinced that you could recreate this look. Check out a thrift store for an old dresser, sand it, prime & paint it…distress it (youtube videos on this!) and you’re done! It’s a perfect warm-weather Saturday project!

Leave a Reply

