The Charleston Adventure Has Begun, Recap of Week One

We are already into the middle of January—can you believe that?? I still haven’t posted my “2013 Wish List” (my version of a resolution list), but I’ve been a little busy MOVING!

IMG_2675

Leaving Chester, VA towards Charleston, SC on Monday, January 7, 2013!

I’ve been here in Charleston for exactly one week and it’s already been filled with SO many adventures! For example: seeing my awesome cousin and her husband a few times, driving around getting lost and lost-er…and looking at house, after apartment, after townhome, after condo, after a spot under the bridge where I thought I could reside if all else fails…

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 11.24.11 PM

Truthfully, I’ve been a little sticker-shocked at how expensive it is to live here. After 3 days of driving around town looking for “rent” signs, I was feeling a little defeated, a little homesick, and a whole lotta missing Eleanor (She’s staying with my parents until I could find a place to live).

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 11.27.10 PM

After a mini boohoo moment on Thursday with my mom on the phone, she helped me put a few things into perspective, prayed with me, and told me to give myself a break…I had only been there for 3 days! She was right (as usual), and Friday was a new day. This weekend was incredible: more time with my cousin, unbelievably gorgeous high 70s weather, beach walks, and…….finding the cutest place to rent! I cannot wait to show you pictures! Before and after to come!

IMG_2744

Sneak peek of my new place! YES, that is a farm sink!

Sneak peek of my new place! YES, that is a farm sink!

Other highlights of the first week:

  • -Learning that one wrong turn can take you to a different island!
  • -I’ve already made a couple of friends
  • -On Sunday I visited a church and really liked it
  • -Justin Timberlake has come out with new music!!!! Remember when I was hoping for that a few months ago?! WAHOO!
  • -Cheez-Its (made with whole grain) have been a few meals for me (pinching pennies!)
  • -Adventures in life are exciting and worth the risk. I’ve had to give myself a few pep talks and remind myself to be brave.

More to come on this transition. I’m still keeping a hushed word on my job here…but I promise to announce soon! Until then, I’ll close with my favorite lines from My Brightest Diamond’s song, “Be Brave

Be brave dear one,

Be changed or be undone

Be brave dear one,

Be changed or be undone

7 thoughts on “The Charleston Adventure Has Begun, Recap of Week One

  1. You’re doing great Shea!! You’re ready for this move. Leaving what’s familiar is unsettling at first but produces within deeper courage & conviction to trust the Lord with all insecurities! Even when we get lost in a new city( if you don’t have a Garmin GPS, you should 🙂 I know what u mean about the real estate there!! Wayy over inflated. The place you’ve found looks adorable. You’ll have it ready for guests & family to visit this Spring! BTW, Eleanor’s the cutest cat I’ve ever seen! I know getting her with you will be such comfort. Can’t wait to get back to Charleston to now visit my 2 precious meices!!

  2. Keep on keepin’ on, Shea. I know things are going to work out great for you! You’re in my thoughts and prayers. JoJo

  3. You are so inspiring Shea! You’re living and doing what many can’t muster courage to do–following a dream that’s not convenient! Keep on girl!

  4. Like the sink…LOVE the windows. Reminds me of my grandparents house when I was growing up.

    Also, I really can’t wait to hear what you job is. And to see more pictures.

Leave a Reply

