A Case of the Bah Humbugs.

Last year I had my house decorated for Christmas by the first week of November. I’ve always been one of those “no-Christmas-until-the-day-after-Thanksgiving” persons, but not last year. My halls were decked, “fresh balsam” scented candle burned, and the Justin Beiber Christmas album was on repeat. (STOP JUDGING ME.)

This year is different. I’ve been waiting for the Christmas bug to bite, but it’s taken longer than usual. The idea of putting up a Christmas tree seems like a lot of work and energy I’m not sure I have and my Starbuck’s drink (a tall decaf, nonfat, Carmel Brulée Lattee) hasn’t evoked the Christmas cheer.

Christmas music, snuggly blankets, eating pomegranates, nor gift shopping/creating has induced that “Christmas Spirit” for this holiday season.

I’ve asked myself a few times this holiday season, “What’s wrong with me?”

Then it hit me. Those “things” we associate the coziness of Christmas that evoke Christmas nostalgia and warm fuzzy feelings aren’t the point, yet are so often idolized during this time of the year.

I’m reminded that it’s about remembering the gift of Christmas…Christ. (Don’t worry, I’m not about to get too preachy.)

I think I wanted to share this post with you because I caught myself having all of the wrong ideas about getting into the Christmas mood. I was looking to a tree, the weather, and music to put me there…but it was all fabricated. When I stop and think about what a sweet gift God gave to me, that I have the ability to be in relationship with such a mighty, yet so personal God because of Christ, I’m simply humbled.

The angel said to the sheepherders, “Don’t be afraid. I’m here to announce a great and joyful event that is meant for everybody, worldwide: A Savior has just been born in David’s town, a Savior who is Messiah and Master.

[Luke 2:8-12; The Message]

I’m humbled that a great and joyful event that happened 2000+ years ago is still the great and joyful event this December.

If you’re reading this and have had a hard time “getting into the Christmas spirit”, don’t make the mistake I did by looking for it in all of the extras we associate the holidays with. In the end, it’s about God’s faithfulness being revealed. The Christmas Spirit is about a precious baby boy we know as Jesus and a Savior who has come along side of us and knows suffering, unconditional love, and pure grace.

So go on and light your holiday-scented candle—but remember with me that the light that radiates is just another reminder of the light Christ is within us and the anticipation of new life & promises to come in the future.

An early Merry Christmas to you from Bird’s Nest!

3 thoughts on “A Case of the Bah Humbugs.

  1. Thanks Shea I’m ashamed to say I needed that reminder. Decorating, gifts, music have been the first thing on my mind :(. Jesus, I know you have forgiven me and I haven’t told you in awhile, but I LOVE YOU!!

  2. Today I made myself put the Christmas tree up. Looking at the lights always give me peace. But my heart has been so I easy it’s forced. This is a well reminder I’m not alone on that front

Leave a Reply

