What Women Want

My friend Janna and I’ve had a lot of great phone conversations lately and just last night, part of the convo focused upon dating relationships. We talked about lists we made when we were in middle school of all the qualities we want in a future husband. My mom would joke (but not really joke), “Shea, tear up your list(s).” Mom would say that because she married my dad…who just so happened to be completely opposite of what my mom thought she wanted (and they’ve been together 26 years!). Other than the basics of a future partner (you know, honesty, trustworthiness, loyalty, kindness, a lover of Jesus and people), I think the answer to what women want is said perfectly in this girl’s tumblr post on soul mates. (Thanks for sending it to me, Janna!) Here’s what she said in short:

Do you believe in soul mates?

“I don’t really know. I am utterly a romantic. Hopelessly…I think I will find someone who wants to be with me, and I will want to be with him. We will fight to be together, and that’s what I want. Someone who wants to put in as much time, effort and love into the relationship as I do.

And maybe someone who texts me on the days we don’t see each other. Even if it’s about a person in line in front of him at the grocery store, or about a song he heard on the radio that day.”

Someone who is thoughtful, someone who is up for the challenge, someone who is just as equally in as I am. I really think that’s what women want.

Leave a Reply

