Mecca Hawkins

I have the most wonderful mom in the world. I know you think your mom is the best, and I’m sure she is great…but she’s not Mecca Hawkins.

Today is her birthday and if you know me—you know I LOVE BIRTHDAYS. They celebrate life and the ability to grow, experience, and love. I wish I could be with her today—just like last year at the beach eating some delicious Mexican food (remember how fun that was, Ma?!), but I’m celebrating her life from afar.

I posted a picture of a recent craft I did and my aunt said, “You are your mother’s daughter.” I replied, “I take that as the highest compliment!” And I mean it. She is the most creative person I know. Just look at this painting she did…

  • -She taught me to try and create something on my own first before paying for it in the store.
  • -She taught me to perfect a manicure before running to the nail salon.
  • -She taught me to explore many talents and use them as a gift to God and this world.
  • -She taught me to decorate a house and to have my own style.
  • -She taught me to set the perfect tablescape and how to be the “hostess with the mostess.”

A few things about Mecca you should know:

-A lover of bloody marys and leaving her red lipstick mark on straws, cups, and water bottles. It’s her signature.

-Clumsy and laughs at herself about it

-Proud parent of Brandon & myself, but her pride and joy is a 6lbs yorkie named Druci

-Dedicated to working out and living a healthy lifestyle (and yes that means she’s in the front row of my Zumba classes when she can be!)

Anyone who knows my mom knows her love for God and others. (Dear God, please help me be more like Jesus and her.) She’s not perfect and she’s the first person to admit it. She shares her struggles with anyone who has ears only so she can become a better person and show the grace of God in her life.

Mom, thanks for being my biggest fan. Thank you for being my number one commenter on Bird’s Nest and standing by me even when you didn’t want to…like when I insisted on getting my belly button pierced at 16 and asking you to draw my tattoo… and then going to the tattoo artist with me.

Thank you for the down-the-hallway-tap dances with baby powder and the (multiple) times you’ve gone in the wrong tollbooth lane. For the stories you’ve shared with me about picking up the phone mess-ups at work, to the time you went in the mens bathroom and thought you were about to get robbed, you are absolutely hilarious!

Momma, thank you for staying home with me and sacrificing an income, a career, and security. You’ll never know just how great of an impact that had on your girl.

Thank you for showing me how to love others with overwhelming passion and for not letting me settle for anything but God’s best.

Thank you for letting me go and fly, I know those days after dropping me off in FL for college weren’t easy.

Thank you for showing me how to live in the beauty of brokenness and for teaching me that God can take our ashes and turn them into beautiful stories. You’re the definition of strength.

Most of all, thank you for showing me how to have a relationship with God. For all those countless nights you tucked me in and showed me how to have conversations with my Creator, you’ve not only given me life but introduced to me the most precious gift of abundant life in God.

Mecca Hawkins, you’re my best friend and confidant.  It’s because of you that I’ve learned to explore and fall in love with God, people, and this world. You make loving you and honoring you easy. Thank you for giving me the freedom to be the woman God has created me to be and for encouraging me to continue to pursue my heart’s desires. You are the most beautiful woman I know (inside and out) and I am so excited to be apart of the story God is writing for you. The best is yet to come! Keep pursuing your calling. You’ve already changed my life and this world. Happiest Birthday yet!

6 thoughts on “Mecca Hawkins

  1. What a beautiful post about your mother! I echo all of your sentiments!! I would like to add another gift through…she is an amazing hairdresser. I will be forever grateful for the HUGE bangs she gave me when I was a teenager. She had some rockin’ bangs and I always wanted to look like her so I had her start cutting my bangs…. boy were they epic!! Happy Birthday Mec…hears to BIG BANGS!

    • Ginny, I will never forget giving you the “poof” you so desired! It was EPIC! Unfortunately my days of a hair dresser “got cut short” when I placed a kitchen bowl over Brandon’s hair and starting cutting. Trust me when I tell you it did not look like the cool bowl cuts all the popular kids had at the time. And then was the time I was shaping up Brett’s hair and somehow the razor went crazy and carved a big bald spot (when he had hair) on his head that looked like the state of SC! I snipped Shea’s ear one time trimming her hair and that was all it took. She fired me on the spot. I still cut my own hair though and Druci doesn’t complain, so I keep my scissors sharp and handy and am willing to give free haircuts to those in need. 🙂

  2. Thank you Shea. I am awed over this tribute. This made me laugh and cry, but mostly feel grateful that I chose to stay at home and raise you & Brandon when all the odds were against us. It was not an easy choice, but one I believed would pay off and it has. As you know, I never had a good relationship with my Mother and hoped that would not be the case with us. You are truly the beauty that came from those painful ashes. God has blessed me beyond my wildest dreams and granted me all the desires of my heart thus far, as He has promised. I believe too, that the best is yet to come! I love you so much! Thank you for honoring me in this way. It is the best birthday gift ever!

  3. I love Momma Mecca! She has such a beautiful soul and has been there plenty a time for me. I hope that she had an amazing birthday because she most definitely deserves it. LOVE YOU MECCA!

    • Thanks for giving me a huge lump in my throat…that was beautiful! What an incredible way to honor your incredible mom. She is truly an amazing woman and a gift to this world! Happy Birthday, Mecca! Miss You!!

  4. Dear Shea B. Your B’day tribute is what every Mom would want to hear, and you said it in your huge heart way! I love the photos. They really capture the spirit of Mecca; her artistic talent, nurturing love for her children, free spirited(loves to laugh), and never least, her heart for Jesus! I love it that she’s not ashamed to call the name of Jesus and we need more bold women of faith in our world today! I know she’s been a wonderful mentor to many young women lucky enough to learn from her teaching and actions. Now that I’ve praised my sister, I have a bone to pick….Can you ask her why she hasn’t called me or written to me? Hummm, she owes me a call :0

Leave a Reply

