One More Month.

Just one more month and it’ll all be over. No more papers to write and turn in, no more reading assignments to read and reflect….no more, no more, no more.

When I stop and think about my entire life chaining in exactly one month, I get a little dizzy, weak in the knees, my heart palpitates faster, and (obviously) my hands sweat like a fourteen-year-old teenage boy asking a girl out for the first time. The change coming is emotional, spiritual, and even physical (It’s going to be my birthday, whoop whoop!). Facing this change, I look for stability around me. I’ve been cleaning my house a lot lately…which is something I do often to feel like I have control over my surroundings. If I can’t change something, by golly I can change this mess of a room(S!) into a sparkling oasis. But cleaning only lasts for so long. Messes happen within the hour. I look for stability in my family and other relationships. There is comfort there, but those can fail me too. But lasting stability…the security I desperately need…that comes from my faith. My faith and past experiences remind me that I am strong, resilient, and more than capable of handling anything that is coming. I can do this.

I’ve been making Psalm 112:7-8 a personal statement the past week:

“[ I ] will have no fear of bad news; [my] heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord. [My] heart is secure, [ I ] will have no fear; in the end [ I ] will look in triumph on [my] foes.

Trusting in the Lord. I’ve done that in the past, I can do it in the present, and if I stand any chance of making through the next few months, I will do it for the future.

I love these two pictures of my brother and my niece. She runs into his arms without any hesitation. She’s always been like that. From running full-fledge into the ocean to jumping without abandonment in the deep end of the pool, the girl has no fears! But she’s got trust. She has an uncompromising faith in her parent that mom or dad will catch her.

 

I’m taking a lesson from my two-year-old niece. I’m running into this next month without hesitation. When May 5th comes and I make that jump, I trust in a loving God–a loving parent– who will catch me.

Ready, set, here we go!

One thought on “One More Month.

Leave a Reply

