“Happy” Thanksgiving.

There is so much to catch up on. I get frustrated with myself for not updating more. I love to share life with you bloggies, so forgive me for being M.I.A.

I just got back from a really great Thanksgiving break that lasted a full 10 days! I traveled to Florida to spend a beautiful weekend celebrating with my backpacking champ, Amy. I could cry just thinking about how sweet the weekend was. More to come on that later—promise!

 The rest of the week was spent with family. I got to see my niece five days in a row! (!!!!) She’s at the cutest stage/age ever…talking up a storm and asking her Auntie Shea to paint her nails. Girl knows how to get to my heart!

 

For Thanksgiving (celebrated on Friday), my family went to my grandparents’ farm and ate a delicious meal. It was relaxing and rich with love. We spent the night and the next day, went to the VT vs. UVA game! 38-0, VT win! WAHOO! (I really love to win…and really win! Not my best trait…but moving on…)

The weekend came to close with some beer-can chicken, ribs, mac’n’cheese, & green beans with my family, a college friend and his family. It was such a good time to catch up!

This entire week I kept thinking of making a list of all the things I’m grateful for and posting it here for Thanksgiving. I went through a time of depression over the past two years and to help combat that, I started to make a list each day for 10 things/persons/events/ect. that I was grateful for specifically to that day. Needless to say, I have countless lists in my journal, on Starbucks’ napkins, on sticky notes. When I would go to start my mental Thanksgiving top ten, I kept thinking, “I’m grateful to just be happy.”

I’m so grateful to be happy.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been back to myself, my happy self, and it just feels good. It’s not the kind of happy that is perky and smiley, but the peaceful kind. There are different levels of happy, so I’ve learned. More to come on that later because it’s been a journey, let me tell you! But enough about that right now.

I really am filled with gratitude and appreciate you reading Bird’s Nest. Love to you all! What did you and your family do to celebrate Thanksgiving?

One thought on ““Happy” Thanksgiving.

  1. This is just wonderful Shea…I have started to read your blog with your New Years post…your writing is just absolutely inspiring to me…thanks for your views and sharing your thoughts…much appreciated…as it opened my eyes and heart to begin the journey of gaining my truth “path” of happiness…as that is my goal for the new year

Leave a Reply

