“It Sounds Like Life to Me”

Can I be honest with you? These past six weeks have been pretty rough. For being on summer “break,” it hasn’t gone as I pictured. I suppose I imagined myself frolicking on my back patio, caring for my plants with my babygirl Eleanor peeking through the blinds. I envisioned endless hours of reading fiction books, journaling deep thoughts that I’d have from time off, and sipping on a glass of chilled Pinot Grigio as the setting sun danced through the trees. I dreamed of cooking decadent meals, practicing yoga & meditation daily, and crafting new projects. Of course, there would be my nightly rituals, such as watching some guilty pleasures like “The Bachelorette” and “So You Think You Can Dance.” I expected rest, peace, and perhaps a new fulfillment. I wish I could say those hopes were a reality for a full six weeks! Instead, the weeks have had me living out of a suitcase and packing it up every 2-3 days to move to the next stop. I’ve been to Richmond & Charlottesville, VA, Pasadena, Los Angeles, San Francisco, & Sonoma, California, stuck in Chicago for a night, went back to Richmond for a couple of days, spent one night in Winston-Salem, NC, travelled to Asheville, NC for another night, headed to Knoxville, TN for four nights, then alas, traveled back home to Winston. 10 cities and 38 days later, I’m feeling unsettled. Don’t get me wrong, I chose to travel and there have been some really great moments, such as meaningful conversations and quality time with family and friends, wine tasting in the vineyards of Sonoma, and some serious foot-stomping at the best concert of my life–Mumford & Sons. On the flip, there’s been little down/alone time (which is essential for my sanity) and my day-to-day has been mostly determined by other people. Perhaps that is why I feel a little out of control, trying to keep up with the own pace of my life. I’m trying to learn that life is full of both the bitter and the sweet. My travels had some really sweet moments, and then some moments of bitter betrayal. Coming home to Winston was something I longed for…

But upon arrival, I was greeted by 200+ ants covering my countertops. Utter exhaustion set in as I faced a full week of babysitting and working as a receptionist. I called my mom and she said, “It sounds like life to me.” She was right. Hearing my overwhelmed voice over the phone, she offered to come down this weekend to help me out. She prayed with me and told me to get a good night sleep. I cleaned my kitchen (which cleaning has some magic affect over me…instant change…something I can control!) and slept like a baby. I woke up the next morning with a new strength and the feeling that everything is going to be ok. And it will. I don’t need momma to come down, though there may be other times in my life I will need her near. I’m learning…I’m growing up to be “Big Girl Shea” who has learned (and obviously still learning) that life is full of the unexpected and it really is how we react to the surprises and invonciences. I’m getting there…trying at least. I can’t do it on my own and even more so, I’m convienced of Colossians 1:9,

“We continually ask God to fill you with
the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding
that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord
and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing
in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according
to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and
patience…”

I can do this thing we call “life.” (And so can you!) I’m just thankful we don’t have to do it alone. Thanks for letting me share in the adventures of becoming “Big Girl Shea.” Can’t wait to talk about some of those sweet moments of the past few weeks. More to come, soon!

Shea, 10 & Mallory, 5. Mal just got wiped out by a wave...obviously, she wasn't expecting it!

4 thoughts on ““It Sounds Like Life to Me”

  1. Kinda like life…Mal getting slammed unexpectedly, sometimes taking your breath away.
    Life is great, but its so daily, like those waves , they just keep coming. Some waves are kind and move you forward and others take you under, or further away than you’d like.
    Some have been known to rip the bathing suit right off ya! I guess we gotta know when to walk away and find that quiet spot on the sand. 🙂

  2. No Kernel Kustard for me tonight, I didn’t make it in time, so I came home to do what I said I would do- read your blog AND continue to be thankful for your friendship. Thanks for sharing all moments with me, bitter and sweet, because even the bitter ones seem to sting less when surrounded by God and friends like you. Looking forward to more Shea time soon! Love ya!

    • Carolyn, You are the friend I have prayed for God to send toShea. Thank you for being there for her. You are a gift to her.

      • Mom, 🙂 I cannot even begin to tell you how much it means that you said that. I know that you are also an extraordinary gift to her. I hope to meet you sometime soon because I already love ya!

Leave a Reply

