The Present Moment.

It’s that time of the semester where I have multiple 15-page papers, presentations, books to (start &) finish, & finals to study for and write. 24 for days left in the semester… 24 days until my birthday…when I turn 24. Obviously, I like to do countdowns. I’m the kind of girl who is always looking forward to something. (Like my M.Div graduation…in 404 days…) Yet, I find myself in a constant struggle to embrace the present moment, mostly when life isn’t the happiest.

I just finished The Sacrament of the Present Moment by Jean-Pierre de Caussade for both a research paper and personal interest. He talks about the necessity to confine ourselves to the present moment without taking thought for the one before or the one to come, especially in times of suffering, pain, and unknowing. De Caussade writes, “The present moment holds infinite riches beyond your wildest dreams but you will only enjoy them to the extent of your faith and love.” Throughout the book, the theme of faith is frequent. Times where we can’t see what’s ahead, times we don’t understand why we are experiencing so many trials, and even times when we question, “Wait, why am I here doing this?” …it is those times when faith is our lifeline. For me, faith is the trust in God (someone beyond myself) that my Creator is working all of these trials out for a much bigger plan and purpose than I could for myself.

I’m tired of wishing life away until the next big thing. I long to find true peace…true joy…true happiness…in the present moment. Each day, I’ve tried to identify ten aspects of my present day that I am grateful for. So far on my list today, I’m thankful for the fresh orange juice I squeezed, thankful for the oranges I had, thankful or the money I could buy them with, thankful for the multiple job opportunities I’ve been given just within this past week…

De Caussade urges his readers to embrace the present moment, to see that it is filled with the holy–each moment sacred. I’m definitely a work in progress when it comes to this stuff. He teaches that busyness hides us from ourselves. Sometimes I find myself spiraling in a whirlwind of tangled to-do lists, workouts, assignments, and meetings that I rarely face myself and find God in the midst.

Well, it’s Monday and I have a lot on my week’s to-do list. I’m sure you do too. But before we wish away the week to Friday, let’s pause and embrace the moment. Perhaps, stop to smell the flowers of this blooming spring?!

What are your ways of being fully present in the moment?

3 thoughts on “The Present Moment.

  1. Love this Shea! We are all guilty of wishing the days away and anticipating the next big event in our lives. I definitely needed to read this today. I hope everyone stops to smell the flowers today!

  2. Nice reminder Shea. I struggle with this too. I/we get so busy doing what we feel is “ministry” here, that we don’t have time, or take time, to stop to talk to individual people. We just rush by and wave as we run from one task to another. Each fall when I come back down, I say to myself, I need to find time to visit with people. How will I ever have opportunities to share Jesus with them if I don’t take time to get to know them. I wish I could say that I have been successful, but we get here and get wound up again and the same rushing happens all over. I do think that we have to keep trying though.
    God does sometimes make opportunities happen, but we have to train ourselves to recognize them when they come – they usually come at “inconvenient times!
    Keep writing. I appreciate that you are willing to make yourself vulnerable when you write.
    Blessings to you.

  3. “I’m tired of wishing life away until the next big thing. I long to find true peace…true joy…true happiness…in the present moment.” It is strange to me sometimes how someone I havent spoken to and dont REALLY even know, can be feeling the same way I can. You inspire me alot. Its wierd, I’m sure. The past hour I have read all of your blogs within 2011, and many thoughts have come to me… I forgot I have a blog that I started and havnt written In a year, I miss cooking & making up my own recipies, and LIVING life rather than just taking broad strokes to get to my next off day and just do more work….Just thought I would share

    Oh and P.S: how was the 10k?

Leave a Reply

