“Behind the Sparkly Gold OPI Nail Polish, I’m a Nerd.”

I apologize in advance…I am one GIDDY girl as I write this and my inner nerd about to show through my glasses.

This is an epic moment. The last time I’ve been excited about going back to school after a summer or winter break was my last semester of college where my classroom was set in Israel! Yes, this is audacious to say… I am eager for the first day of school again!

OMG I’ve never been more excited about taking a class based solely on the reading book list. Some I’ve read, others I’ve had in my possession and have wanted to for a very, very long time. Here are a five of the eight books on the list for my class, “Classics of Christian Devotion”:

  1. The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer
  2. The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Lawrence
  3. An Anthology of Christian Mysticism by Harvey Egan
  4. Testament of Devotion by Thomas Kelly
  5. Contemplative Prayer by Thomas Merton

EEEKK! This list makes me squeal! I don’t think I’ve been this excited about a grad school class…ever. This does my soul well, very very well.

Break is almost up, which is ok. After all, the semester ended over a month ago. I’ve spent time with some of my favorite people. (More to come on this later.)

Anywho… I foresee a good semester ahead with lots of good reading nights snuggled up with Eleanor. Here are the classes I am taking:

  • Art of Ministry IIb / Internship with Hospice
  • New Testament Interpretations II
  • Classics of Christian Devotion
  • Mystics of the Church

Bloggies, what books are on your reading list this season? It doesn’t matter if you’re in school or not—let’s read!

7 thoughts on ““Behind the Sparkly Gold OPI Nail Polish, I’m a Nerd.”

    • Thank you David! I wish you well, also! I miss you much and pray all is well. Thanks for the comment, it means more than you know!

  1. Well… apparently all my schools books :). But, lately I have been digging into Rita Mae Brown’s, Sneaky Pie Brown collections. A cat….and a detective. Love it!

  2. I am excited you are excited about school again! What a breakthrough!
    Here are some of the books I plan to read:
    “Saefty Tips for Adults Over 50 to Avoid Injuries at the Gym” by…. Can’t Remember….
    “50 Reasons to Remain Married after 50” by…. It’s left me….
    “Top 50 Plastic Surgeons in the USA” by ….You know….what’s his name…
    “50 Medical Tests That are a must after 50” by….Well it doesn’t matter…
    “50 Things You Should Not do After a Colonoscopy-One Being Writing on Your Daughter’s Blog” by …. It will come to me….

Leave a Reply

