Christmas Eve: Tequila, 905 Miles, Forevermore.

I just put chocolate covered pretzels and almond milk out for Santa, a few shreds of carrots for the reindeer… along with a note and about 3oz of Tequila. (Don’t judge me when Santa leaves me a few extra presents…) “The Family Stone” is playing, my favorite Christmas movie, and am stuffed from a great dinner from Bottoms Up, my beloved pizza place in downtown Richmond. I still have a few Christmas presents to finish wrapping, nothing surprising there.

Our Christmas Eve service was good, as usual, but ohhh the message was just what I needed to hear. My pastor talked about how the wise men came from the east, having traveled already 900 (or so) miles to Jerusalem. When they got there, they asked where the Messiah was to be born. “Bethlehem,” the teachers of the law responded. Geographically, that would be another 5 miles south. After already 900 miles, I’m sure the magi were exhausted, tired from their long weary trip. Another 5 miles? Ughhhh. My pastor took this story to encourage us tonight to not give up. Though we may be worn out from all we’ve done, all we’ve sought—let us not give up. Let us continue to seek Christ. Tomorrow on Christmas Day, amidst the Christmas presents, decorations, and music, let us not forget to continue to seek Christ.

“Evermore evermore

He shall reign forevermore

Humble king sovereign Lord

He shall reign forevermore”

-Phil Wickham “Evermore” from his Christmas album. Go take a listen here!!!

3 thoughts on “Christmas Eve: Tequila, 905 Miles, Forevermore.

  1. I got taught about patience yesterday on Christmas day itself. It used to be when I lived with my mother I would wake up and open all the Christmas gifts at home then we would go see other relatives or they’d come see us. This year we all went out to my Aunts house because she just had a defibrullator put in. (Probably spelled that wrong.) So the entire family showed up there. He 8ft Christmas tree now looked tiny with all of the presents there. We had Christmas dinner and THEN we opened presents. But the youngest waited even longer for the eldest to open theirs first so we could take photos of what could be my Aunts last Christmas. Those extra hours made great memories. So yes, as always, patience is a virtue. 🙂 And are we there yet? 🙂

  2. I got taught about patience yesterday on Christmas day itself. It used to be when I lived with my mother I would wake up and open all the Christmas gifts at home then we would go see other relatives or they’d come see us. This year we all went out to my Aunts house because she just had a defibrullator put in. (Probably spelled that wrong.) So the entire family showed up there. He 8ft Christmas tree now looked tiny with all of the presents there. We had Christmas dinner and THEN we opened presents. But the youngest waited even longer for the eldest to open theirs first so we could take photos of what could be my Aunts last Christmas. Those extra hours made great memories. So yes, as always, patience is a virtue. And are we there yet?

Leave a Reply

