“Summer, don’t Fall away (quite yet).”

“Live each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.”

-Henry David Thoreau

This week's weather forecast!

This week's weather forecast!

Nope. Not quite ready for the influence of fall. I know this is shocking to all you pumpkin spiced latte addicts out there. It’s September 14, 2010 and today, the high will be 89 degrees. Come on folks, how do you expect me to be giddy about cute boots, scarves, hoodies, changing leaves (which have hardly started), and all of the warm foods that are perfect for a chilly autumn day when it’s still hot like summer outside?! And if we want to be technical here…the first official day of fall isn’t until Thursday, September 23, 2010.

Now don’t get me wrong fall junkies…it’s my second favorite season of the year (remember my love affair with spring?!). But well, I’m just not ready for it yet. October 1, 2010…that will be the day I celebrate the autumn season. I’ll slow cook some chili all day long, paint my nails a bronze, and indulge in a messy pomegranate. I’ll work on a take-home test at Starbucks, while sipping on a caramel apple cider, taking many breaks to gaze upon the vibrant leaves dancing in the wind. With this, I anticipate fall.

Sometimes seasons just have a way of sneaking up on us and then turning around abruptly, leaving without a proper goodbye. Perhaps this is just my way of saying “farewell” to this summer and “welcome” to this fall. Charles Dickens said, “Nature gives to every time and season some beauties of its own; and from morning to night, as from the cradle to the grave, it is but a succession of changes so gentle and easy that we can scarcely mark their progress.”

Here’s to the next two weeks of summer, with hot pink nail polish, almost-too-short-shorts, hot weather, and seasonal summer fruits. And soon and very soon, I’ll resign myself to the influences of autumn.

5 thoughts on ““Summer, don’t Fall away (quite yet).”

    • haha yes– i must say I am a football fan– especially of VT Hokies. But we just wont talk about their last two games. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

