“Top 22 of Age 22”

Top 22 of being 22:

  1. Backpacking Europe…12 counties, 5 weeks!
  2. Getting accepted to Harvard Divinity School, then saying no to Harvard Divinity School…
  3. Going to Wake Forest Divinity School & completing my first year of my masters!!!
  4. Living completely on my own for the first time in my life; learning and growing from that.
  5. Decorating my place. What a fun project and great way to discover personal style.
  6. Going to Nicaragua.
  7. Enjoying new friendships in Div school.
  8. Starting this blog. Notice it started out as a travel blog…turned into “this is what life’s about right now” blog…and I think it’s slowly turning into a food blog. I think I’m ok with that!
  9. Welcoming my baby niece into the world. (Found out she was on her way last May 5!!!)
  10. Studying my mystics: St. Teresa of Avila & St. John of the Cross.
  11. Learning to decorate cakes.
  12. Becoming a nun, then getting kicked out of the convent for well, lying…
  13. Learning balance: school work, maintaining friendships, being crafty (painting, cake decorating, card making, photography), to working & babysitting. I definitely don’t have it completely down, but I am a lot closer to living balanced that I was last year.
  14. Getting accepted for an internship at a local hospital working as an intern this summer. Can’t wait to see what that teaches me and how my internship with Hospice will go this year.
  15. Being 22 means I’m still in my early 20s. I have some anxiety getting older…23 is still considered early 20s…
  16. Spending more time with my parents this year. Being in FL the past three years had me seeing them only on holidays. Now that I am closer, I get to see them more often, and capture wonderful moments…like mom trying to tap dance…
  17. Reading some wonderful books, like: Davita’s Harp by Chiam Potok, Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Yearnings by Rabbi Irwin Kula, & A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller…just to name a few.
  18. Going back to FL in December and early May to visit my college roomies, friends, and favorite professors.
  19. Creating the most delicious meals ever. And, I learned how to grill.
  20. Dwelling on this quote: “You are in the Beloved…therefore infinitely dear to the Father, unspeakably precious to our Creator. You are never, not for one second, alone.” –Norman Dowty
  21. The hardships of this past year. Honestly, it has been the hardest year of my life with new adjustments, moving somewhere completely new, starting a masters program, working family things out…in fact it has been a very, very dark year. But wow. It has been such a wonderful year for self-growth in who I am as a person in this world and who I am in God. God is so faithful, so trustworthy, and so patient. I’ve learned that after every winter comes the summer; after the wilderness comes the promise land; after the darkness, comes the dawn.
  22. Living the 22 years I have lived. I’m simply thankful for the life I have, the opportunities I’ve been given, and the possibilities for the future. I am truly blessed.

I’m looking forward to seeing what new discoveries I make about this world, self, and God as 23 years old. Pray I soak up all life has to offer, always valuing each day, never-not for one moment-rushing it.

Leave a Reply

