“Healthy Weekend Musings”

Well this past Thursday, right after class, my friend Kim and I decided to exercise by swimming laps at our University’s pool. Now, this was our first time going to the pool at Wake so we were a little nervous about being the “new” ones. Once we got there, we shared a lane and gave ourselves a prep talk that went something like this: “Ok, we are here just to have fun, exercise in the pool, and not feel intimidated by others.” It was a fine little pep talk. That is until actually getting in the pool, swimming (much slower than those in the lanes beside), completely exhausted after 4 laps! Once we hit 30 laps or so, we were curious if we had done a mile. That is- until we found out that a mile is 66 laps!

We were pretty much satisfied with our workout (Kim’s technically sound breast stroke and my graceful doggie paddle…) and sit the sauna for 20 minutes.

By 7:45pm, I was exhausted and ready for bed!

On Friday morning, I felt the some tenderness in the new muscles I’d worked, but overall not bad. I made some oatmeal, egg whites, fruit, and pomegranate juice for breakfast. By noon, I was ready to put my Jillian Michaels (lady from biggest loser) “30 Day Shred Workout” DVD. I’ve had it for a year or so- just haven’t put it in. So I thought it would be a great “mini” workout. With this DVD, there are three levels. I figured I was at least on level two…after all it was only going to last 20 minutes. Um, once I started doing it, I had to stop the DVD 4 times and chug about 4 glasses of water. I thought my heart was going to beat out of my skin and the blood pumping through my body would pour out! After 15 minutes of this torture, I turned the DVD off and told Jillian Michaels, we’d meet again…one day.

After resting an hour or so, I figured I’d keep up this health kick and make a juice for lunch. A lady at my Divinity school is passionate about health and fitness and after a conversation we had, I came home with a recipe for a healthy and nutritious shake. So I gave it a whirl.

-5 handfuls of Kale

-1/2 cucumber

-1 apple

-3 strawberries

-1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

Juice in juicer.

After diluting my mixture with water, it wasn’t so bad. I tried at first the juice from the pure kale and thought I was going to throw up! The fruit and protein powder sweetened it, eh somewhat, thank God!

When I went to sleep that night, I had a dream that I was an Olympic gymnast. I figured I had that dream that night because of the intense aches and muscle soreness I felt that night and Sunday morning. In fact, when I woke up on Sunday, it had felt as if a truck had run me over, backed up, and run me all over again and again and again.

So that was my weekend of “health and exercise.” Ok attempt thereof. It was hilarious and I suppose I welcome this new change in my normal exercise schedule. I’ve gotten too comfortable with my dear elliptical machine and need to spice it up. In the end, it’s about getting up and movin’ it. Sure you may have a dream that you’re an elite Olympic gymnast because your sub-conscious is telling your conscious that your body feels like it’s training for the gold, but who knows…maybe in the end…you just may get the gold! I leave you with this Jillian Michaels quote:

“A bad day for your ego is a great day for your soul.”

One thought on ““Healthy Weekend Musings”

Leave a Reply

