Holiday Reminisce

Well I’m crawling out of my hiding place long enough to say hello to the blog world. To my friends far off, I’m alive!!! So, where to begin?

Amber wearing the hat I knitted her!

I suppose I should update back a little from Christmas break. Oh my Jesus, that break was so welcomed! In fact, I think it was too long where I got too comfortable practicing the art of “being.” Or as my dad would say, practicing “laziness.” Ah, whatever. Anyways, the highlight was by far welcoming my baby niece, Amber into the world on Dec. 28. Never more have I appreciated Psalm 139, when God says, “13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,16 your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

Holding Amber hours after her birth and remembering that she was just in the womb— being knitted and woven together by our Creator –was life changing. It only makes me realize how far we can come from remembering our bodies, minds, and souls are the very handiwork of God.

Hmm what else…

Well break gave a few chances to see some of my best friends. Amy, Helen, J.Shea, Myca, Brett & Alyce, Rene, Sarah, Janna, Kristen, Tiffany…I loved catching up with these people. Talking current life worries, stresses, and decisions out with these dear friends always gives me a hope and reassurance that I am not alone in this world.

Oh, I had a few moments to dress my dog up (oh shut up all you who think negative of people who dress their dogs up! If they make dog clothes, we might as well use them!) Let’s see…I made a few cakes; one for a birthday and another for a banquet for a close family friend, Rebekah McLeod,  releasing her second CD. Check it out– she is so gifted.

Actually having time to be crafty, I made homemade journals, cards, and paint a canvas. Ahhh, I thank God for art. Thomas Merton once wrote, “Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.” I couldn’t agree more.

Thank you 1-month holiday season. You were beautiful and much loved. Let’s do this again soon, ok?!

Leave a Reply

